United We Funk


The United We Funk All-Stars represent a coming together of the hottest names in
funk - the Dazz Band, the Gap Band, Roger Troutman & Zapp, the SOS Band, Con
Funk Shun, The System, the Bar-Kays, and Rick James - designed to deliver classic
RnB tunes to a new generation of fans. Why did these bands decide to come together?
Marlon McClain, Dazz Band member and one of the organizers of the United We Funk
project said, "We've all come together in a certain kind of spirit that's almost magical.
It's almost like a new Motown family." Michael Cooper of Con Funk Shun agreed:
"We got together for the camaraderie, the unity, the coming-togetherness. We all
began to realize we've been blessed. We've gotten a second shot." The first album,
United We Funk offered 14 sizzling tracks, ranging from the classic hardcore funk
of Rick James and the Gap Band, to the smooth contemporary funk of the Dazz Band
and the SOS Band. The album also contained the last two known recordings of the
late Roger Troutman, funk pioneer and frontman of Zapp. Troutman appears with the
United We Funk All Stars, performing the cuts "Party Time" and "Nothin' But a Party."
After the release of their first album in 2000 the UWF went on a US tour, 2 of these
shows were recorded and used for their live, double album in 2001.


Year of release Album title
2000 United We Funk
2001 United We Funk Allstars live